skip navigation

Greg Lehouiller Memorial Award

Greg Lehouiller Memorial Award

Son * Teammate * Friend

In the summer of 1978, Greg Lehouiller was tragically killed when hit by an automobile near his home in Underhill. Greg was nine years old and an avid hockey enthusiast in the Essex Youth Hockey association. Not only did he display good hockey skills at a young age but, more importantly, he epitomized the philosophy of EYHA. He respected his coaches and teammates; he always worked hard to improve his skills; he demonstrated good sportsmanship toward his teammates and his opponents; and most of all, he was fun to be with.

With the concurrence of Greg's parents, Joan and Marcel, the EYHA Directors established the Greg Lehouiller Award in 1979 to be awarded to a deserving participant who exemplifies Greg's qualities. Each team coach is asked to submit a candidate to receive respectively that team's sportsmanship award. From that list of names, a committee of EYHA Directors selects the recipient of this memorial. His or her name is placed on a plaque that is proudly displayed in the Essex Skating Facility.

Past Recipients of the Greg Lehouiller Award

2019 Ian Boutin
2018 Ashley Stempek
2017 Trenton Sisters
2016 Max Line
2015 Drew Forcier
2014 Christopher Bird
2013 Bailey Gaskill
2012 Colton Layman
2011 Nick Vespa
2010 Nick Gonyeau
2009 Wil Norris
2008 Abby Wintersteen
2007 Brent Adair
2006 Mark Irwin
2005 Tyler Russell
2004 Keela Gendron
2003 Dan Halpin
2002 Joseph Tomaino Jr.
2001 Jared Kuitems
2000 Ryan McLaren
1999 Travis Russell
1998 Bryce Chaffee
1997 Christina Dotchin
1996 Brian Gray
1995 Ben Stimets
1994 Jeff Hall
1993 Robbie Perkins
1992 Ali Kenney
1991 Chris Almy
1990 Scott Rogers
1989 Brian Stinehour
1988 Aaron Gates
1987 Steve Dwire
1986 Matt Clark
1985 Jeff Kenney
1984 Jay Lanpher
1983 Chris Minandeo
1982 Trevor Quick
1981 Matt Duffy
1980 Georgie May
1979 Darick Duquette